Sulfur Intolerance and Oxidative Stress

Dr. Ben Lynch posted this on his Facebook Page:

Sulfur. While listening to Russian music last night (and now as well ), I discovered something that makes total sense AND may solve a huge mystery regarding sulfur intolerance. CBS upregulation is only a drop in the bucket compared to this. It has to do with oxidative stress levels. I’m still wrapping my head around it but the key point appears to be:

The more oxidative stress / reactive oxygen species one has, the more intolerant to sulfur they will be. Lower the oxidative stress and sulfur intolerance will improve. Of course, sulfites must be evaluated as well with B1, molybdenum – but the oxidative stress reduction appears to be a big one.

I know you’re going to ask – how to lower it – now that’s complicated. Liposomal glutathione (small tiny amounts at first) along with SOD , B1 and B2, B3, krill oil and possibly vitamin E if tolerated. This is NOT a complete list by any means – it’s a starting point for some.

Need to pinpoint causes of oxidative stress – and there are many. Will be teaching all this to docs in my next conference coming up late Spring (in planning still).

After reading this, my head started to spin.Could all this be any more complex?  I wondered, “Why?  Why is there a link between sulfur intolerance and oxidative stress?
At the same time, I’m deeply grateful there are doctors who care.  I’m deeply grateful there are doctors who are devoted to sharing the research.
As challenging as it may seem in moments, I know I must persevere on my own methylation journey.  It’s necessary for my own well-being, but also because we are pioneers who will influence generations to come.
Do you struggle with sulfur intolerance?  How do you work with it

2 thoughts on “Sulfur Intolerance and Oxidative Stress

Leave a comment